In Brief

In Brief

Who are we?

The Arab League Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (ALECSO) is a Tunis-based specialized institution working under the umbrella of the League of Arab States. It is essentially concerned with the development and coordination of the activities related to education, culture and sciences in the Arab World. It was established by virtue of Article 3 of the Arab Cultural Unity Charter, and was officially announced in Cairo on July 25, 1970.

As stated in Article One of its Constitution, ALECSO was established with the aim of promoting Arab intellectual unity through education, culture and sciences, and enhancing the educational, cultural and scientific level in the Arab World so that it can positively contribute to universal civilization.



Within this overall objective, ALECSO performs a number of tasks, including in particular:

  • Upgrading the level of human resources in the Arab World;
  • Providing propitious conditions for the development of education, culture, sciences, the environment, and communication in the Arab World;
  • Promoting and disseminating the Arabic Language and the Arab-Islamic culture in the Arab World and elsewhere;
  • Establishing channels of dialogue and communication with other cultures worldwide.

Member States

ALECSO includes twenty-two (22) Member States, namely :

  • Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • State of the United Arab Emirates
  • Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Republic of Tunisia
  • People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
  • Republic of Djibouti
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Republic of the Sudan
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Republic of Somalia
  • Republic of Iraq
  • Sultanate of Oman
  • State of Palestine
  • State of Qatar
  • Republic of the Union of the Comoros
  • State of Kuwait
  • Republic of Lebanon
  • State of Libya
  • Arab Republic of Egypt
  • Kingdom of Morocco
  • Islamic Republic of Mauritania
  • Republic of Yemen